The Plague of the “Happy Whens”


The Plague of the “Happy Whens”

Views from the Podium

I used to be a “happy when” person. When I was an actress it was, “I’ll be happy when I work at such and such theatre.”  Then once I worked there it turned into, “I’ll be happy when I get a better role at said theatre.”  This would soon turn into, “I’ll be happy when I can work closer to home,” or, “I’ll be happy when I get my Actor’s Equity Card,” or,  “I’ll be happy when I work with a certain director or choreographer.”  It was an endless cycle of wanting more every time I had achieved something that was supposed to bring me joy.

I think all of us go through the “happy whens” at some point.  I feel that we are endlessly bombarded with the thought that happiness is a choice.  And though I thoroughly agree with this, it’s probably the last thing you want to hear…

View original post 719 more words

Leave a Reply

